Sirloin Tip Roast

The hunk of beef that started it all...

I don’t know if I’m just cheap or poor.  Maybe a little bit of both. 

Either way, my frugality inspired this recipe.  You see, I wanted to do a roast using Turbo’s family recipe.  But a special at the store led me to buy sirloin tip roast.  Buy one get one free…who could resist? 

I got home, cut one of the roasts in half (since there are just two of us) and proceeded with the recipe.  Turbo, the King of Frugality, pointed out my blunder.  Apparently you’re supposed to use rump or round cuts for a proper roast.  Excuse me, I replied, but I was trying to save money and red meat is red meat so I’m sure it will work just fine. 

I was wrong.

The flavor wasn’t bad but it was as tough as shoe leather.  So then I was stuck with these huge hunks of cow and no idea how to cook them.  I scoured my cookbooks.  I consulted mother and mother-in-law.  I searched the Internet.  I was stumped.  I think “sirloin tip roast” is a term my less-than-stellar grocery store made up because Betty Crocker makes no mention of it in her section on red meat. 

Finally, I cobbled together what little I could find on “sirloin tips” and, lo and behold, the result was fantastic!  Cheering and clapping ensued and I took a bow after my husband’s first bite.  Okay, maybe not that dramatic, but it was pretty darn good if I do say so myself.  Best of all, you can use this on just about any cut of beef or pork, particularly those that say “roast.”  So you can take advantage of whatever BOGO offers you might find, questionable titles and all.

You start with the rub, which is basil, oregano, ginger, mustard, black pepper, red pepper, salt and olive oil.  Let it sit for about 15 minutes.

Herb Paste

Line a pan with aluminum foil and place meat in center.  I actually used a cookie sheet with about one-inch sides, but if you were using the whole roast you would need a deeper pan to catch the juices.  

Using your fingers, rub the herb paste on all sides.  It’s kinda fun to get your hands dirty, no? 

Sirloin Roast Before

Remember, this is half a roast.  If you were using the whole enchilada, it would look more like this:

Whole Roast

Now, just cook in a 325 degree oven for 35 minutes (for one pound of meat).  When it’s done, wrap it up in a cute little foil package.  This makes it tender and juicy.

Sirloin Roast wrapped

Notice how pristinely clean the tray is – one less to scrub!  Well actually, none of my cooking implements are pristine, but maybe yours are. 

After a couple of lesuirely sips of wine…oh, I mean, about 15 minutes…unwrap the foil and bask in the glory of your domestic genius.

Sirloin Roast after

Try it tonight.  Hopefully you will enjoy culinary accolades from your household too!

Herb-Rubbed Sirloin Roast (serves 2)

  • 1/2 tsp. of dried basil, dried oregano, ground ginger, ground mustard, black pepper and Kosher or sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp. red pepper (or less if you don’t like spice)
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • Sirloin Tip Roast (approximately 1 pound)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Mix the first three ingredients in a bowl and let sit for 10-15 minutes. 

Place roast in pan lined with aluminum foil.  Using fingers, rub herb paste on all sides of roast.  Cook for about 35 minutes.

Remove from oven and wrap in foil.  Let stand for 10-15 minutes, covered, before slicing.