Black BananaTurbo and I are always fighting over the fridge.  You see, I’m a saver.  I tuck away bits of leftover food until our refrigerator is a landfill of crumpled foil and Tupperware.  Well, luckily I rescued this rather unsavory-looking banana from one of his purges.  Yes, this black object is a banana!  And hold on before you judge my rather skanky-looking fruit.  It’s actually the secret ingredient.

Any banana muffin or bread is better with overripe bananas.  So when I saw this one start to go, I got excited about this recipe.  It’s from The Food Allergy Mama and was my saving grace in the early days.  First, it’s easy enough for a non-baker like me.  Plus, you can freeze the cute little muffins and pop them right into the toaster as needed, which is easier than cereal because you can eat while holding your little one.

muffin pan

First you’ll want to grease your pan.  I haven’t bothered getting MSPI-friendly spray because most at my grocery store contain butter.  Then again, my store leaves much to be desired.  So I just pour a tiny amount of vegetable oil in the cups and rub around with my finger.  A little goes a long way…once your hand is greased up you can do two or three with one pour.

Now once you peel and mash the banana, it’s not as bad as it looks.

Mashed banana

Isn’t that better?

Throw the banana in your mixer with some melted “butter” and soured “milk.”  That doesn’t sound very palatable either.  I’m probably not selling you on these like I should – they really are delicious.  Soured milk is a substitute for buttermilk, and can be done by adding a smidgen of vinegar or lemon juice to your milk.

Now by “butter” I mean margarine, and “milk” is almond milk.  But be careful when buying margarine.  A lot of brands still contain butter or milk proteins such as whey and casein.  The only safe brand I’ve been able to find in my grocery store is Best Life Buttery Spread with olive oil.  But then again, I told you about my grocery store…

Banana and Butter in Mixer

Now mix up your dry ingredients with a wire whisk (or fork).

Banana Muffins dry ingredients

That was easy, right?

Add it slowly to your batter while the mixer is going.  I say slowly so you don’t get a “flower shower.”  Been there…

Banana Muffins - Flour

Now it’s time for the piece de resistance….MSPI-friendly chocolate chips!  I use the Enjoy Life brand, which I did have to drive 20 miles to get at the specialty grocery store.  Totally worth the trip.

Chocolate Chips

The hardest part is evenly dividing between the cups.

Banana Muffins before

Bake until golden brown and delicious.

Banana muffins - after

Mmmm….now dig in!

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 medium bananas, mashed (they don’t have to be overripe but are better that way)
  • 2 tbsp. water
  • 1/2 cup MSPI-friendly margarine, melted
  • 1/4 cup soured almond milk (or rice milk)*
  • 2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup MSPI-friendly chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and coat a 12-cup regular-sized muffin pan or 24-cup mini muffin pan with vegetable oil (or MSPI-friendly spray).

Combine mashed banana, water, melted margarine and soured milk in a stand mixer with paddle attachment until well incorporated.

In a medium bowl, combine all dry ingredients with wire whisk (except chocolate chips).  Add dry ingredients to banana mixture and mix well.  Stir in chocolate chips and divide batter evenly among prepared muffin cups.

Bake 15-20 minutes for regular muffins or 12-15 for mini muffins.

*To make soured milk, add approximately 1/4 tbsp. lemon juice or vinegar to 1/4 cup milk and let stand for 5-10 minutes.

